Reviews for NRG Home

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for NRG Home are their billing & account management system, with an average of 4.2 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 4.1 stars.


Recent Good Review from Ginny Travers

I switched to NRG
I switched my energy supplier to NRG a couple months ago. It was a very easy transaction. Ive already received my first months bill, and it was noticeably lower. Yay!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ginny Travers from East Bridgewater, MA on November 27th, 2023


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
I switched to NRG
I switched my energy supplier to NRG a couple months ago. It was a very easy transaction. Ive already received my first months bill, and it was noticeably lower. Yay!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ginny Travers from East Bridgewater, MA on November 27th, 2023
What do you mean, title .
Our billis lower
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ames from Worcester, MA on September 15th, 2023
Lillian Goreham
So far so good with NRG...I left National Grid for NRG and even though NG lowered their price pew, NRG is still lower and service seems fine, I have had no issues with NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lillian Goreham from Everett, MA on June 6th, 2023
Great Savings
I couldnt believe transferring to NRG would save me so much money on my electric bill. I thought it might be a scam , but I have been pleasantly surprised. No problems so far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathleen from Rutland, MA on May 22nd, 2023
The new service
The transition was without any problems. Highly recommend switching from National Grid expensive electric toNRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kathleen Horahan from Rutland, MA on May 14th, 2023
Easy transfer and set up
We just signed up with NRG and it has been great. Got our first bill and it was the cheapest it's been in awhile.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ruby Michaelson from Westminster, MA on May 10th, 2023
Very happy with nrg
There was a mistake made and when i tried to register my account i could not do it called nrg and they did say that by mistake my account had been cancelled. the rep on the phone got a supervisor and the 2 of them worked it out. thank you
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Happy from Centerville, MA on April 6th, 2023



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
New customer
I signed up for NRG online but when I called and checked on it, the person I talked with said he had to go over every detail with me and I had to agree to each. Was a long process. Happy with my first bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carole from Leominster, MA on July 12th, 2023



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NRG review
Obviously best rates make a difference. Keep offering low rates and you will acquire and keep customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RAY from Haverhill, MA on May 21st, 2023



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
My electric bill tripled
My electric bill went from 250 to 519. this month and that is with me getting 32% percent off i dont know who to call because i cant afford to pay 519.00 a month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gail Pluta from West Brookfield, MA on March 5th, 2024
Did not enroll me as indicated
I signed up for NRG and was told I would be a customer. I was never enrolled and when i checked back later to check my status and re enroll the per unit cost had elevated. My experience was no experience as the company did not folloow through.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Business As Promised from Plymouth, MA on June 1st, 2021
Scam !!!!!!
Scammmm don't sign-up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

F. V from Salem, MA on July 13th, 2020
Scamming
I called to cancel and they hung up on me twice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Dorchester, MA on February 20th, 2020
Terrible
They are nothing but scammers haven't saved me a dime and then when I called to cancel they said "are you sure because you cant get us again for 6 months" ...Are we kidding so your telling me I can not sign up again for your program that saved me no money and I can not longer be overcharged?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mad Customer from Roslindale, MA on January 22nd, 2020
Ruuuun Awaaay from NRG - Price gougers.....
These guys charge you 16.9 cents per kwh when you can get rates today (1/10/20) as low as 9.8 and avg around 12.5. For my average 2100 KWH/mth at 16.9 cents, my supplier cost is $354. At avg 12.5 cents my cost would have been $263, an overcharge of about $90 per month. If you shop, you could get a rate of 9.8 cents, or in my case, a supply cost of $206. Now, who wants to pay $354/mth to NRG, or, $206/mth to a competitor????? Stupid me, just caught this and I have been gouged for $150/mth EXTRA for 5 years!!!!! CHECK YOUR BILL!!! DO NOT PAY 16.9 CENTS TO NRG WHEN THERE ARE SO MANY OTHER COMPETITORS OUT THERE, THAT WON'T CHEAT SENIOR CITIZENS, OR ANY OTHER VICTIM THEY CAN FIND. Oh, by the way, I never signed up with NRG, I thought they were Eversource's default supplier... Just sayin'... Ruuuuuuuun from NRG.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Mashpee, MA on January 10th, 2020
NRG THOSE SNEEKY BAS^%$DS
Didn't email, mail or call to notify my 6 month contract was about to expire as they are required to do and instead started charging we 17 cents per kWH instead of the 10 cents on my contract. I'd suggest finding some one else to sign up with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Randall from Roslindale, MA on November 20th, 2018
They have been charging my dead father for 10 months and still won't close his account
They have been charging my dead father for 10 months and still won't close his account. I have been calling every month or two since January. They always tell me it is in the process of transferring but they can't do it yet until somebody takes over his place. They have someone else call me back in two weeks to tell me the same thing. It has now been 10 months and I have a bill for over $500. His electricity was turned off 9 months ago. They are just stealing his money. It is coming up to the day where I can close his account but they still have not removed this bill. They are a horrible company with horrible customer service. Be aware they will cheat you out of money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yvonne Tidwell C/o Charles Chagnon Estate from Ware, MA on October 3rd, 2018