Reviews for Clearview Energy

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Clearview Energy are their customer service, with an average of 1.7 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.3 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Looked Like Price Gouging to Me
I've had Clearview as my supplier for a year and their rates were reasonable but they claimed to provide all solar power energy which i found desirable. Throughout the year they consistently mailed my letters asking that I select them--which seemed both confusing and annoying. This year the cost of solar has declined to imagine my surprise when at the end of the year term, they notified me that unless I renewed they would move to a monthly variable rate (moving from .17 per KWH to .23. My usage was lower so I resolved to see how the next couple of months went. The first month was OK but the second, with lower usage than the first monthly variable rate month and lower than the past year's comparable was stunning ($432 for a one-person household). I immediately had my meter checked and canceled Clearview as my supplier on the 22 of August. Just got my third month bill (because of administrative issues the change takes 1--2 billing cycles). Again my usage was lower but my bill was now $586 and the billing rate .389/KWH for the cycle, during a period when the cost of solar has declined! Don't ask my why--they can't explain it either. Needless to say, I'm not going back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

P Burke from West Yarmouth, MA on September 23rd, 2022



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
This company is a scam
The guy at my door told me they work along with Eversouce. He asked to see my eversouce bill. He said they could knock of 7% of my eversouce bill. Then he asked if I would sign a " approval letter" to see if I " qualified " for the program. Little did I know, when 6 moths later a bill came through my email. ( I gave him my email because he said if I got approval, they would bill me through my email) Then, he had me talk to a representative on the phone, so I could hear from her that I would save 7% of my bill. Well, it was a total lie. They don't work with Eversouce. The 7% was of off their rate. Which literally triples. Then, that " approval letter" was actually a contract. They never notified me till 9 months into my bill. I don't know how that even happened. Now, I canceled as soon as I knew I got scammed. In the contract it says I have to pay for 8 months more before I can finally quit paying them. As they tripled my bill. This company is a fraud and liars. They should be shut down by the Attorney Generals office( which I notified and the said it was a scam). Now, I cringe everytimevI see their name with my new invoice. I'm one step away from just destroying my credit. That's how they blackmail you.They know they can ruin your credit overnight.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark W from Mashpee, MA on September 5th, 2023
A nightmare Electric company I ever got
In the year 2022. I lived in Arlington MA.
The Clearview Energy plan some how got my info and put my address into the account and replace the original account of me by another electric company.
* A few month later ClearView Energy started increasing the cost of service 27%. As a result, the bill be come much more higher cost than any other vendors.
* So I called many times to Customer service and requested to cancel the an-authorized electric plan from this company.
* Somehow, the Clearview did NOT release my plan to my request and triples the electric cost. I lived in a studio and myself adding a lot money for temp insulation. As a result, my energy usages reduce 30% however, the company continue to increase the "transferring service". So witt the lower than any normal apartment usage of electric 25%, I still got their bill $350.00 per months.
* Lastly, we moved away from MA to LA and join with other company. Also we did again calls plus request to discontinue the online account. The company still tried to charge on my bank account $350.00 for the month that I did not live in the old address. So it force me to call my bank to ban the illegal charge from Clearview. With my final call stated that I would sue the company, then the customer service begin to recognize their illegal charges.
* Even those somehow, 3 months later their WEB site still automatically sent me a $10.00 bill for "late" payment. So this is kind of abusing! I called them again and asked stope abusing email.
All are the true. I still keep every evidences. I swore never ever let this company touch me again.

In 3 month of year end (2022)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tashi from Arlington, MA on July 8th, 2023
Price gouging
I was happy the first 12 months after that I was not notified my plan expired my supply charge went from $44.00 to $144.00 they even put a customer charge of $9.99 the rate was.48990 plus $9.99
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Phil from Buzzards Bay, MA on December 23rd, 2022
Total misnomer for name of company
In terms of names for a company, I'm not sure there has ever been a greater misnomer. They will entice you with lower entry rates and give very little notice when these rates are about to expire. My electric bill more than tripled for the supplier charge this month from .1139/kw hr to .3899/ kw hr. This is .12 /kw hr higher than what was quoted it was going to be 2 days before billing cycle began. My advice is to stay away, find another supplier who will be more transparent as Clearview is anything but.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pat D from Buzzards Bay, MA on September 15th, 2022
Horrible customer services
Locked in at 10.39 cents back in May of 2022. They have not honor my 8 month contract. My kWh is now up to 27.99 cents and no resolution. This company is beyond corrupt.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible Services from Leominster, MA on September 4th, 2022
Did not sign up with Clearview as a supplier-they continue to badger me with early termination fees
I recently reviewed my bill to notice that Clearview was supplying my electric. I was unaware i was signed up with them. I called them and asked when that took place and who signed up. They could not provide any proof that we signed up with them. I nor my wife signed up. Watch out for this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not A Clearview Customer from Duxbury, MA on April 29th, 2020