Reviews for Inspire Energy

The best review categories for Inspire Energy are the order experience, with an average of 1.9 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.9 stars.


Recent Good Review from Mike D.

Renewing because of Low price , good customer service.
Entering my 2nd.year. Slight increase this year but what isn't ? Last year my supply rate was lower than national grid on both of there rate adj. I have a 12 month contract again and there is no charge to cancel should I decide to. However I have no intention to . They have a good customer service as well. I do not understand how anyone could have an issue with this company. At least in Massachusetts it's cut and dry. You pay a set kwh rate for supply cost and lock into that for 12 months. And it lower than National Grid. Thank you Inspire Clean Energy !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike D. from Rutland, MA on September 14th, 2023


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Renewing because of Low price , good customer service.
Entering my 2nd.year. Slight increase this year but what isn't ? Last year my supply rate was lower than national grid on both of there rate adj. I have a 12 month contract again and there is no charge to cancel should I decide to. However I have no intention to . They have a good customer service as well. I do not understand how anyone could have an issue with this company. At least in Massachusetts it's cut and dry. You pay a set kwh rate for supply cost and lock into that for 12 months. And it lower than National Grid. Thank you Inspire Clean Energy !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike D. from Rutland, MA on September 14th, 2023
Upfront and honest customer care.
I spoke with a rep on the phone about my current plan and they searched competitor rates for me. A real person that didn't read from a script was very refreshing. In Mass, you can buy power from the utility company and they are cheaper than clean energy. It can confuse people that you have to pay for energy, and also the infrastructure it takes to deliver it separately. As long as you understand that, you can better gauge the energy marketplace. I'm happy to pay a bit more for clean energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry from Milford, MA on June 3rd, 2022



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Inspire energy robbed my identity and signed me up on a plan
I left my phone at a shell gas station were a sales rep for inspire was working . I had no password on my phone which i have changed after this experience and now have password on my phone. They took my info signed me up on a ridiculous plan at 27 cents a kil which my normal plan with my provider is 10 cents a kil, i did not know any of this was happening until i received my bill. I looked into it further through inspire and found out i was signed up from rep at shell gas station on the same day i left my phone at fuel pump. rep illegally signed me up on a ridiculously expensive plan by stealing my identity . I had to contact my electric provider cancel out inspire and go back to provider I had. The difference in 2 months of billing from them amounted to 1046.11. For weeks they have said they apologize and will send a check for difference, check never came and then my 2nd time talking to them they told me they sent check for 342$ no where near they amount that they owe me. I have contacted the attorney general and a Lawyer to file criminal charges and civil charges. If anybody has experienced the same situation I would advise you do the same.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bryan from on September 8th, 2023
Scam operation
Steer clear of inspire clean energy! They are a scam and will increase your rates 2 to 3 times as they did me. They approached me at BJs with an offer of a free gift card to take a quick survey. Sales person without my knowledge or consent signed me up for service. Totally fraudulent company to do this to people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark Johnson . from Millbury, MA on August 9th, 2023
Avoid this company!
When I initially signed up, I was promised that my rate would be only slightly higher than my current provider and that in paying "slightly" more, that I would be supporting clean energy. My rate increased, without notice, to double the rate. I am now paying more than double my electricity consumption for their delivery services. Of course, in order to cancel, one must wait several billing cycles while paying astronomical amounts to this company. This company's practices are fraudulent!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Liz from Somerset, MA on August 4th, 2023
Stay away!
I was approached at Stop and Shop by a representative of this company. He assured me that I would receive the same rate as my current bill, which he was able to view on his tablet. I did not notice the outrageous increase for a few months. I am so angry with myself for not looking into this sooner. My bill was over $100 per month more expensive. Of course, Inspire customer service was unable to address this issue. This is fraud.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LizA from Somerset, MA on June 27th, 2023
This company sucks
They just almost double my rate in one month they went from 0.1489x kWh to .2699 x kWh
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bw1954 from Hubbardston, MA on June 14th, 2023
Screwed
Got a flat rate plan. No notice of it expiring when I bought it. Expired and they jumped the rate exponentially. Got all their money plus some for the original purchase. Stay away!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Charlton, MA on May 17th, 2023
2nd year Renewal with large increase and no renewal notice
I signed up with a competitive low rate only to be renewed the 2nd year at a much higher rate without a renewal notice or option to opt out. The company gave me 3 days to renew - but never sent a letter or email so it took me a month to notice the increase on my electric bill. Customer service was mediocre and did not care much, giving me a different story about the renewal the three times I called. Was able to cancel but only after a month or two on the lower rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc from Franklin, MA on August 18th, 2022
These folks are awful
They lie about the price, they don't fully explain their charges are for service provider only. You still pay utility company charges on top of that. Their rates stink. I was charged 155 for a month where my average for almost 2 years was 100. Avoid unless you have endless supplies of money. OH, when I cancelled after receiving my very first bill they said it was AFTER the recension period. Sooo lame.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T-Lo from Salem, MA on May 6th, 2021
Absolute Scam- Where is the class action law suit??
Ticked me into paying almost 2x as much as what my bill was supposed to be. Tried to cancel (I have no faith, however, I made them send me a direct email for a paper trail).
Reporting to the Attorney Generals Office if they don't refund me the hundreds of dollars they scammed me out of.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ali H. from Quincy, MA on October 13th, 2020
Billing scam
I signed up with inspire in late 2017. My rate was comparable to National Grid, slightly higher. One the course of the following 12 months, rates increased by 50% in several steps. Along the way I complained, rates were adjusted down only to go up again later. Net 50% increase over a period of 12 months. I threatened to cancel, they offered me a fixed rate slightly lower as current but knowing that rates usually go down over the summer months that rate would be very high. So I cancelled. They told me it will take one or two billing cycles to execute my shift back to National Grid. I now received the bill for the first of those two "billing cycle". Their rate increase again by about 15%! So they really take advantage of me. I can only warn to get in business with this company. We all want to do the right thing for the environment but that does not mean that we have to accept scams!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Beverly, MA on February 17th, 2019